San Antonio Hub To Foster Pediatric Medical Device Development

By Iris Gonzalez, Startups San Antonio The San Antonio-Austin hub of a pediatric medical device consortium ...

InCube, VelocityTX Join Work to Develop Pediatric Medical Devices

By David Holley, Xconomy Texas San Antonio—A group of San Antonio institutions are getting involved ...

South Texas RCIC Announces New Texas Emerging Technology Fund Regional Board
April 9, 2010

San Antonio/Corpus Christi, Texas:  The South Texas Regional Center of Innovation and Commercialization (STRCIC) today announced the formation of its Emerging Technology Fund (ETF) Regional Board.  The Board is an integral part of the state-wide RCIC network and is key to the STRCIC process of ETF applications. 

Jim Poage, President & CEO of the STRCIC and SATAI, said We are proud to spur technology company formation and development in the South Texas region by advising technology innovators and assisting them in the overall ETF process.  The individuals selected for our ETF Board represent a wide variety of industry expertise, are engaged in a variety of regional organizations, and are committed to growing the technology economy in South Texas.”    

Craig K. Clement, Executive Vice President and Director of AdviTech, Inc., serves as the initial Chairman of the Regional Board. “Craig brings a unique perspective to the Regional Board as an entrepreneur who has been through the process and received ETF funding,” stated Poage.  In subsequent years, the Chairman of the STRCIC ETF Regional Board will be elected by the Regional Board. 

STRCIC Emerging Technology Fund Regional Board

1.      Craig K. Clement, Executive Vice President & Director, AdviTech, Inc. (Chair)

2.      John T. Hill, President & CEO, TechSage Solutions (Vice Chair)

3.      Bill Archer, Vice President, Global Marketing & Chief Marketing Strategist, Frost & Sullivan

4.      Mike Culbertson, Vice President, Corpus Christi Regional Economic Development Corporation

5.      Cory Hallam, Director, Center for Innovation Technology and Entrepreneurship, UTSA 

6.      Judith D. Ingalls, Principal, The Coach Approach, LLC  

7.      Marcel Johnson, Vice President, Economic Development, Greater San Antonio Chamber of Commerce

8.      David Marquez, Executive Director of Economic Development, Bexar County

9.      Dan Perugini, Associate Vice President for Research, The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio

10.  Jim Poage, President & CEO, SATAI and STRCIC

The STRCIC has streamlined the ETF process through an easy to use online system. Submitted applications are screened and reviewed by a non-biased committee composed of professionals from throughout the South Texas region.  This committee in turn recommends the most competitive applications to the ETF Board.  The new ETF Regional Board reviews the screening committee’s recommendations and the entrepreneurs’ deals are forwarded to the state for review by the ETF’s state-wide 17-member advisory committee.  The final decision regarding ETF funding is made by the Texas Governor, Lt. Governor and Speaker of the House.  A map of the 32-county region and more information about the Emerging Technology Fund can be found at


Stay informed. Subscribe to BioMed SA news alerts.