BioMed SA eyes new road map to greater economic wins

BioMed SA President Ann Stevens (Photo by Lyndsey Johnson) By W. Scott Bailey, San Antonio Business ...

Military champion has Prytime Medical ready for prime time

Prytime Medical Devices Inc. CEO David Spencer said his company is poised to take its flagship technology ...

Industry Publications

The Mission

The Mission is published by the University of Texas Health Science Center.

UTSA Discovery

UTSA Discovery is published annually for the Office of the Vice President for Research by the Office ...

Kenneth P. Trevett Re-elected BioMed SA Chair For 2016
February 1, 2016

As it begins its second decade in operation, BioMed SA, the non-profit organization charged with promoting San Antonio's healthcare and bioscience industry, today announced its newly elected officers and Board of Directors for 2016. All terms are for one year.

Re-elected as Chair of the organization is Kenneth P. Trevett, J.D., who also serves as Executive Director of the Vaccine Development Center of San Antonio. Trevett joined the BioMed SA board in 2008 and succeeded former San Antonio Mayor Henry Cisneros as Chair in 2011. Newly elected Vice Chair is Walter D. Downing, Jr., P.E., Executive Vice President of Southwest Research Institute, one of the world’s premier applied research and development organizations and the eighth largest employer in San Antonio. Downing joined the BioMed SA board in 2012 and chaired the Bylaws Review Committee in 2015.

Returning as Secretary/Treasurer is Richard Perez, President and CEO of the San Antonio Chamber of Commerce. The Chamber launched BioMed SA in 2005, and Perez joined the board in 2008 shortly after being named Chamber president. Ann Stevens continues in her executive role as President of BioMed SA. Donna Miller is Director of Membership and Administrative Services.

Newly elected board members for 2016 are Delbert Chumley, M.D., Partner, Gastroenterology Consultants of San Antonio; Fred Hines, President and CEO of Clarity Child Guidance Center; Pamela Parish, President, San Antonio Region, for Broadway Bank; and Ann Salamone, President, Rochal Industries, LLC. They join returning board members Mauli Agrawal, Ph.D., John Benedict, Ian Clements, Walter Downing, Winston Erevelles, Ph.D., Gary Frashier, William Henrich, M.D., George Hernandez, Jr., J.D., Mario Hernandez, Bruce Leslie, Ph.D., Linda Myers, Debra Niemeyer, Ph.D., Jeff Ruiz, and Kenneth P. Trevett, along with ex officio members Mayor Ivy Taylor, Henry Cisneros, Stephen Fitzer, David Marquez, and Richard Perez.

For the organizations and sectors each of these individuals represent, see:

Stay informed. Subscribe to BioMed SA news alerts.