Study shows stress hormone’s link to memory deficits, brain shrinkage

Dr. Sudha Seshadri was the senior author on the study. Courtesy Photo By Lauren Caruba, San Antonio ...

At 88, San Antonio’s ‘father of burn care’ isn’t stopping

Retired Col. Dr. Basil Pruitt at UT Health San Antonio last month, where he maintains an office.  Pruitt ...

Cisneros to receive stem cell leadership award
September 18, 2014

By Elaine Ayala,

Former Mayor Henry Cisneros will be awarded the Stem Cell Action Leadership Award for championing the development of the city's biosciences community as BioMed SA's chairman. BioMed promotes the healthcare and biosciences industries in San Antonio.

He'll be honored Dec. 3 at the Genetic Policy Institute's 10th Annual Stem Cell Action Awards, which will be part of the World Stem Cell Summit, Dec. 3-5 in San Antonio.

The other honorees include the Japanese Society for Regenerative Medicine, Texans for Stem Cell Research and the grass-roots Huntington's Disease Advocacy Community. Previous winners include actor and stem-cell research advocate Michael J. Fox; former CEO of Paramount Pictures Sherry Lansing; and Susan Solomon of the New York Stem Cell Foundation.

Bernard Siegel, executive director of Genetic Policy Institute, said this year's honorees "embody the energy and action needed to propel our field forward." He said they create "the foundation needed for new cures and the alleviation of human suffering."

The World Stem Cell Summit is an international gathering of stem cell experts. Among its organizers are the the Mayo Clinic, the Kyoto University Institute for Integrated Cell-Material Sciences, the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio and the Baylor College of Medicine.

Note from BioMed SA: Henry Cisneros is the Founding Chair of BioMed SA and continues to serve on the orgaqnization's Executive Committee. Kenneth P. Trevett is the current BioMed SA Chair.


Stay informed. Subscribe to BioMed SA news alerts.