San Antonio Hub To Foster Pediatric Medical Device Development

By Iris Gonzalez, Startups San Antonio The San Antonio-Austin hub of a pediatric medical device consortium ...

InCube, VelocityTX Join Work to Develop Pediatric Medical Devices

By David Holley, Xconomy Texas San Antonio—A group of San Antonio institutions are getting involved ...

BioMed SA Announces First Leadership Transition in Organization’s 5-Year History
January 12, 2011

(SAN ANTONIO) January 12, 2011 - In the first volunteer leadership transition in its five-year history, BioMed SA announced today that Kenneth P. Trevett, JD, President and CEO of the Southwest Foundation for Biomedical Research (SFBR), has been elected to succeed founder Henry G. Cisneros, a former San Antonio mayor and Cabinet Secretary, as Chair of the Executive Committee in 2011. Cisneros will continue to serve on the committee under Trevett's leadership.

The other newly elected officer for 2011 is Vice Chair Kevin Moriarty, President and CEO of Methodist Healthcare Ministries. Richard Perez, President and CEO of The Greater San Antonio Chamber of Commerce, was re-elected Secretary/Treasurer. Both have served on the Executive Committee since 2008.

As head of SFBR, Trevett leads San Antonio's oldest biomedical research organization. Organized in 1941 by founder Tom Slick, SFBR has become one of America's premier independent research institutes, with a doctoral level staff of over 70 people and a total of 400 staff members. It has major scientific programs in genetics and virology/immunology, addressing a variety of conditions and illnesses including cardiovascular disease, mental disorders, emerging infections, fetal development, diabetes and obesity. Trevett has led SFBR since September 2008 after serving seven years as President and CEO of the Los Angeles Biomedical Research Institute.

In addition to his leadership roles with SFBR and BioMed SA, Trevett is active in a variety of other local and regional organizations. He serves on the Executive Committee of the United Way of San Antonio and Bexar County and is a board member of the Texas Research and Technology Foundation. He also serves on the Advisory Committee of the Southwest Research Institute and on the National Advisory Board of St. Jude Children's Research Hospital.

Succession Includes Continuing Role for Cisneros
Cisneros, Executive Chairman of CityView, founded BioMed SA with the help of The Greater Chamber in 2005 to organize and promote San Antonio's extensive healthcare and bioscience assets and establish its reputation as a City of Science and Health. A longtime public servant who three decades ago foresaw the impact of the biosciences on San Antonio's economy, Cisneros was a four-term Mayor of San Antonio in the 1980s and went on to serve as Secretary of Housing and Urban Development in the Clinton administration.

"BioMed SA has built a solid track record in raising San Antonio's biomedical profile over the past five years," Cisneros said. "As demonstrated at last month's Annual Meeting, the organization has significant momentum going into 2011 as a result of its role in the recruitments of Medtronic Diabetes and InCube Labs, in San Antonio Days at the Shanghai World Expo, and in the growing stature of its Julio Palmaz Award and other branding initiatives. I am tremendously proud of the organization's achievements, many of which have exceeded our original goals, and I have confidence that BioMed SA has reached the level of maturity for others to take the lead and guide its future direction."

Cisneros said he is pleased to turn over the reins of the organization to a leader of Trevett's caliber. "Ken's 30 years of broad-based industry experience and collaborative leadership style, as demonstrated on our Executive Committee for the past two years, make him a natural choice to lead our collective efforts to position San Antonio as a global leader in healthcare and bioscience," Cisneros said. "I look forward to serving another year on the Executive Committee under Ken's leadership and alongside the outstanding cross-section of leaders representing all segments of San Antonio's healthcare and bioscience sector."

Trevett said, "Henry's shoes cannot be filled, but with the continued executive leadership of President Ann Stevens and the combined efforts of a strong and representative Executive Committee, we will aggressively and productively advocate for San Antonio's biomedical sector. I am convinced San Antonio can and will be the next hub for biomedicine in this country, and in accordance with our newly adopted strategic plan, BioMed SA will lead the effort for San Antonio's recognition as a global leader in healthcare and bioscience."

Trevett announced the appointments of Cisneros and Dr. Steven Davis, Medical Director of the Dermatology and Laser Center of San Antonio, to co-chair BioMed SA's 2011 initiative to identify biomedical sector activities in which San Antonio has the critical mass and capacity to become a reputational leader with the appropriate community support and resources. This initiative is intended to build on the Executive Committee's 2010 inventory of the sector's leading and emerging assets, led by Dr. Davis.

2011 Executive Committee Members
Joining the Executive Committee for the first time in 2011 are: Dr. Kevin Land, President and CEO of the South Texas Blood & Tissue Center; Dr. Randy Goldsmith, CEO of The Texas Technology Development Center; and Doyle Beneby, President and CEO of CPS Energy. Dr. William Henrich, President of the UT Health Science Center at San Antonio, succeeds Dr. Brian Herman as the university's representative.

Returning members of the Executive Committee include: Graham Reeve, President and CEO of the Baptist Health System; Julie Burgett, Vice President of R&D, Therapeutic Support Systems, Kinetic Concepts, Inc.; Dr. Ze'ev Shaked, President and CEO of Evestra, Inc.; Dr. Robert Gracy, Vice President for Research at UTSA; Dr. Louis Agnese, President of University of the Incarnate Word; Dr. Bruce Leslie, Chancellor of the Alamo Colleges; Col. (Dr.) Mary Ann McAfee, Deputy Commander for Clinical Services, Brooke Army Medical Center; along with Trevett, Moriarty, Cisneros, and Davis.

Continuing as ex officio members, along with Perez, are Mayor Julian Castro, County Judge Nelson Wolff, and Bexar County Medical Society CEO/Executive Director John Wisniewski.

Click for more info on BioMed SA leadership.

Photos are available upon request.

Media Coverage
From San Antonio Express-News:

From San Antonio Business Journal:

From WOAI Radio:

From Texas Public Radio:


Stay informed. Subscribe to BioMed SA news alerts.