SA biotech buys Birmingham company

CytoBioscience CEO James Garvin said the acquisition of BioDtech is a big win for his San Antonio-based ...

SA biotech CEO: Company on the verge of taking cancer-detection product to market

Seno Medical Instruments Inc. CEO Tom Umbel said the company is picking up momentum. GABE HERNANDEZ | ...


BioMed SA Annual Breakfast Meeting

When: 7:30-9:30 AM Tuesday, December 18, 2018 Where: Omni Hotel, 9821 Colonnade Blvd. Join ...
San Antonio inventor, educator and entrepreneur, Dr. Mauli Agrawal, to receive BioMed SA’s prestigious 2010 Julio Palmaz Award for Innovation in Healthcare and the Biosciences
September 16, 2010

(SAN ANTONIO) September 16, 2010 –  BioMed SA, the non-profit corporation founded in 2005 to help grow and promote San Antonio’s thriving healthcare and bioscience sector, will award its fifth annual Julio Palmaz Award for Innovation in Healthcare and the Biosciences to C. Mauli Agrawal, Dean of Engineering at The University of Texas at San Antonio (UTSA).  The award, named after Palmaz® Stent inventor Julio Palmaz, M.D., honors individuals who have made significant contributions to advance the healthcare and bioscience fields.  Agrawal, a serial entrepreneur, inventor, and biomedical engineer, will accept the award at BioMed SA’s annual Palmaz Award dinner to be held in San Antonio on September 16, 2010. 

Previous recipients of the Palmaz Award include internationally acclaimed inventor Dean Kamen of DEKA Research & Development Corp. in New Hampshire; Karen Davis, Ph.D, president of The Commonwealth Fund in New York; and San Antonio pediatric surgeons Drs. Robert Campbell, Melvin Smith (deceased), and Kaye Wilkins from The University of Texas Health Science Center San Antonio and its academic children’s hospital at CHRISTUS Santa Rosa.

A biomedical engineer and materials scientist by training, Agrawal has earned an international reputation for his contributions in orthopedic and cardiovascular biomaterials, tissue engineering and drug delivery. Agrawal’s research has generated more than 290 scientific publications that have been cited more than 2,800 times by other researchers. In addition, he has edited or co-edited four scientific books, served on the editorial boards of several leading scientific journals and delivered more than 75 scientific lectures on four continents.

Agrawal has earned a reputation at the state, national, and international levels through his leadership of worldwide professional societies and his service on the Texas Emerging Technology Fund oversight committee.  Agrawal is a Fellow of the International Union of Societies for Biomaterials and the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering.  He was elected 2006 President of the Society for Biomaterials.  He has also served on the board of the U.S. Biomedical Engineering Society and is active in numerous other professional organizations. 

“Mauli Agrawal perfectly embodies the qualities of innovation and leadership that the Palmaz Award is designed to celebrate,” said Henry Cisneros, founding chair of BioMed SA.  “His passion for building things, whether it be new products, companies, or educational programs, inspires us all and advances San Antonio’s growing international reputation as a city of science and health.”

More than a dozen United States patents, with numerous others pending, have been issued to Agrawal for developing and improving orthopedic implants, regenerative medicine devices, diabetic foot products and drug delivery stents. His technology has also led to the

formation of three biomedical startup companies in San Antonio including Xilas Medical (now Diabetica Solutions), one of the first companies to receive support from the Texas Emerging Technology Fund, and many of the products based on Agrawal’s medical innovations have contributed to a better quality of life for people around the world. 

Agrawal’s academic career includes faculty appointments at top universities across the country. In 2003, after spending 12 years at The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio, Agrawal joined UTSA’s engineering faculty. In 2005, he established the Joint Graduate Program in Biomedical Engineering, the first joint degree program between UTSA and the Health Science Center. That same year, he was named the College of Engineering’s interim dean, a position that became permanent one year later. Under his leadership, the College of Engineering’s admissions, programs and research have grown significantly, supporting UTSA’s bid for national research status and boosting its reputation as a stronghold for energy and sustainability expertise.  In 2007, he received the Chancellor’s Entrepreneurship and Innovation Award from the University of Texas System.   Agrawal now holds the David and Jennifer Spencer Distinguished Chair for the Dean of Engineering at UTSA. 

UTSA President Ricardo Romo said, “Dr. Agrawal is a distinguished teacher, scholar, and innovator with a record of stellar service at UTSA and in the community.  His research in bioengineering has improved the lives of many, and he demonstrates great passion for students to make certain they achieve their greatest potential.”

“The Palmaz Award is indeed a great honor,” said Agrawal. “I am truly humbled by this recognition, especially given that past recipients include giants such as Julio Palmaz and Dean Kamen whose work has touched millions of lives.”



The Julio Palmaz Award for Innovation in Healthcare and the Biosciences honors individuals who have made significant contributions to advances in the healthcare and bioscience fields. Julio Palmaz, M.D., became the inaugural recipient and namesake of the industry award in 2006. Dr. Palmaz is widely recognized for inventing the first commercially successful intravascular stent, which gained a U.S. patent in 1988 and received FDA approval for use in cardiac arteries in 1994. The Palmaz® Stent revolutionized cardiac care, with more than a million people a year undergoing coronary artery stenting to repair clogged arteries.


Stay informed. Subscribe to BioMed SA news alerts.